Skip to Content

Retention Council

Dr. Joanne Smith, Vice President for Student Affairs, Lead Directors
Dr. Jen Beck, Director, Retention Management and Planning, Lead Directors

Mr. Jon Ahlberg, Associate Director, International Office
Mr. Ismael Amaya, Assistant Dean, Dean of Students
Dr. Deborah Balzhiser, Associate Professor, English
Dr. Dan Brown, Dean, University College and PACE Center
Dr. Ryan Buck, Assistant Vice President, International Affairs
Dr. Carol Dochen, Director, Student Learning Assistance Center
Ms. Susan Dudolski, Associate Director, Housing and Residential Life
Ms. Julie Eckert, Assistant Director, Student Health Center
Dr. Laurie Fluker, Associate Professor, Fine Arts and Communication
Dr. Andrea Golato, Dean, The Graduate College
Dr. Nancy Grayson, Professor, Liberal Arts
Ms. LaTonya Henry, Assistant Director, Career Services
Ms. Melissa Hyatt, Associate University Registrar, Office of the University Registrar
Dr. Mayur Mehta, Professor, McCoy College of Business Administration
Dr. Chris Murr, Director, Financial Aid and Scholarships
Dr. Michael Nava, Associate Dean, University College and PACE Center
Mr. Terrance Parker, Assistant Director, Retention Management and Planning
Dr. Greg Passty, Assistant Dean, Science and Engineering
Mr. Peter Pereira, Assistant Director, Student Center
Dr. Edna Rehbein, Assistant Vice President Academic Affairs, Round Rock Campus
Ms. Blanca Sanchez-Navarro, Supervising Counselor, Counseling Center
Mr. Jesse Silva, Student Development Specialist II, Student Diversity and Inclusion
Dr. Stella Silva, Associate Director, Student Diversity and Inclusion
Dr. Marc Turner, Research Analyst, Institutional Research
Dr. Donna Vandiver, Assistant Dean, Applied Arts
Mr. Trevon Walker, Assistant Director, Campus Recreation
Ms. Skyller Walkes, Assistant Director, Disability Services
Dr. Ruth Welborn, Dean, Health Professions
Dr. Patrice Werner, Chair and Associate Professor, Curriculum and Instruction, Education

The mission of the Council is to serve as collaborative partners that will research, develop, implement, and evaluate effective retention efforts across campus that positively impact the retention to graduation rates of Texas State students with specific emphasis on targeted sub-populations who exhibit the need for more intensive retention efforts.

The Retention Analysis Council will execute collaborative research to assess, analyze and interpret student and campus data with the intended outcome of increasing student retention. While the primary focus will be the undergraduate student population at the San Marcos campus, the council can expand to research retention issues for graduate and Round Rock Higher Education Center student populations.


  • Develop a research plan to strategically address the retention needs of the campus.
  • Analyze existing data and make recommendations for improved research design and methodology.
  • Assist in the implementation of comprehensive quantitative and qualitative assessments of student subpopulations.
  • Strive to develop prediction models to increase retention and encourage success for student subpopulations.